[Documents menu] Documents menu

Date: Sun, 11 Oct 98 13:19:11 CDT
From: rich@pencil.math.missouri.edu (Rich Winkel)
Organization: PACH
Subject: HUMAN RIGHTS: Int'l Criminal Court Treaty Ratified by 53 Countries
Article: 45068
To: undisclosed-recipients:;
Message-ID: <bulk.622.19981012181603@chumbly.math.missouri.edu>

/** headlines: 117.0 **/y ** Topic: HUMAN RIGHTS: International Criminal Court Treaty Ratified **
** Written 10:31 AM Oct 9, 1998 by newsdesk in cdp:headlines **
/* Written 7:56 AM Oct 8, 1998 by wfm@igc.apc.org in un.icc */
/* ---------- 19 new signatories to treaty! ---------- */

From: Np.Wj@agora.stm.it
Wed, 7 Oct 1998 19:34:01 +0200 (ITADST)
Date: Wed, 7 Oct 98 19:33:56 ITA
Subject: Rome Treaty/19 new signatories

International Criminal Court: Today, October 7 1998 at 3 P.M ceremony for No Peace without Justice, warns about any possible boycott of the ratification process

No Peace without Justice press release, Roma, 7 October 1998

At a Ceremony held at Palazzetto Trevi, 19 countries have signed today the Rome Treaty for the establishment of the International Criminal Court. No Peace Without Justice President, Mr. Marino Busdachin in his intervention before the assembly has warned governments about the possible delaying strategy for the ratification process that some countries have threatened. Mr. Busdachin has also said that it took the international community 50 years to obtain the statute of the first permanent institution with jurisdiction of the most serious violations of humanitarian law, and that the momentum gained at Rome must be maintained in New York on the occasion of the upcoming 6th Committee. Mr. Busdachin concluded saying that by October 21 it is very likely that the Rome Treaty could have 60 signatories

Several speakers praised the role of NGOs in the process of the establishment of the ICC, a particular mention to NPWJ '97-'98 int'l campaign was made by the Rome UN Representative, Mr. Staffan De Mistura, who complimented NPWJ for its efforts in the convening of the Rome Diplomatic Conference.

With these 19 countries (Angola, Austria, Cote d'Ivoir, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Ecuador, Eritrea, Finland, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Gabon, Jordan, Honduras, Ireland, New Zealand, Paraguay, Portugal, Slovenia, Sweden, Uganda) the number of signatories has reached 53.

Countries that signed between July 17 and October 6: Albania, Andorra, Belgium, Bolivia, Cameroon, Congo Republic of, Chile, Denmark, France, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Liberia, Lichtenstein, Madagascar, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Namibia, Niger, Norway, the Netherlands, Panama, San Marino, Samoa, Senegal, Spain, South Africa, Switzerland, Zambia e Zimbabwe