Central African Common Market launched

BBC World Service, Friday 6 February 1998, Published at 19:02 GMT

Six African countries are set to launch the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa.

The organisation will group Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Brazzaville, Gabon, and Equatorial Guinea, whose leaders agreed the final shape of the Community at a summit meeting in the Gabonese capital, Libreville.

The launching of the Community has been delayed since 1994, mainly due to internal difficulties in member states.

The new body will replace the old regional customs union.

It will represent its members when the Lome Convention is renegotiated later this year with the European Union.

It will also liaise with other regional organisations in Africa.